UiTM And Ohio University Strengthening Two-Way Relationships

SHAH ALAM – [19 May 2024] – A historic moment in academic collaboration unfolded as Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) and Ohio University (OU) solidified their partnership through a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) exchange ceremony. The event, held at The Majestic Hotel, Kuala Lumpur marks a significant step towards enhanced academic cooperation and cultural exchange between Malaysia and the United States.

The establishment of the Chair, known as the Tun Abdul Razak Chair (TARC), is proof of the continued commitment of both institutions in fostering international academic relations. This TARC has been established by the Ministry of Higher Education (KPT) since 1981 through the appointment of UiTM as a Strategic Partner in the signing of the MoU with Ohio University today. This MoU aims to strengthen and promote collaborative efforts in various fields regarding the history, culture, economy, social life, and politics of Malaysia.

“The MoU exchange between UiTM and Ohio University signifies a new chapter of academic excellence and collaboration in various fields involving staff and students,” said Professor Datuk Dr. Shahrin Sahib @ Sahibuddin, Vice Chancellor of UiTM. “This partnership not only enhances our educational landscape but also paves the way for innovative research and cultural understanding.” The MoU exchange between UiTM and Ohio University conducted by Professor Datuk Dr. Shahrin Sahib @ Sahibuddin, Vice Chancellor of UiTM and Dr Gillian Ice, Acting Assistant Chancellor of Global Affairs representing Ohio University. This ceremony was also witnessed by Dato’ Dr. Mohd Sharil Abdullah, Director of the Industry and Community Collaboration Division, performs the duties of Deputy Director General of Higher Education, MOHE.

Also present at the ceremony was Professor Datin Dr. Suzana Sulaiman, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic and International) UiTM, Dr Jennifer Bowie, Associate Vice President of Alumni Relations and Executive Director of the Ohio University Alumni Association, Rebecca Prater, Director of Alumni Engagement Ohio University, Dr Hjh. Yatela Zainal Abidin, Chief Executive Officer of the Sime Darby Foundation, Tan Sri Dr. Ibrahim Shah, Patron of the Ohio University Alumni Association in Malaysia, Professor Dr. Anizu Mohd Nor, Ohio University Malaysia Alumni President, Dr. Habibah Ashaari, former TARC Chair, Professor Dr. Haryani Haron, Assistant Vice Chancellor of the College of Computing, Informatics and Mathematics, senior officers of MOHE, Ohio University, UiTM, and the Sime Darby Foundation as well as 128 Ohio University alumni in Malaysia.